Monday, July 30, 2018

Day 47 - November 23rd


Day 47 – November 23rd
Decided to drink @ work because I fucking hate YAH YAH'S
I hate this job so fucking much
So glad I went drinking this night
Just pulled double aces out of the deck!!!

        When I first started working at Yah Yah's I was avoiding drinking at work because it seemed like a waste of a drinking day. I think this falsely endeared me to the management, as if me not drinking was an indication that I was approaching my position as a glassy with the seriousness that the station warranted. Little did they know I would have drank every drop of alcohol in that bar if I could have figured out a way to do so and not lose the dumb bet I'd made with myself almost a year earlier. I hated it by this point, but I was so close, and I couldn't figure out a loophole to escape through.
        I don't remember what I did on this night, but it probably involved Pony, which was a club in the city owned by the same people as Yah Yah's that opened until... I want to say 7am? We would finish work at 5am, drink a few free pints there, and then head over to Pony for the last half an hour or so. Whenever one of us got any romantic ('romantic') interest from anyone over the bar during the night, we'd swap numbers with them, and then tell them to head over to Pony to meet us there after we finished. That bar has changed hands now, but it's still called Boney, in what I assume is a nod to the former late-night institution. Boney is a lot nicer, but it took years for the smell of piss to seep away from the rear wall of the dance floor that backs onto the toilet.

Click here to read the next part - Day 48- December 1st

No comments:

Post a Comment